Why Was The Foundation Phase Introduced?

What are the 7 areas of development?

Learning and development covers the 7 key areas of learning within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which are:personal, social and emotional development.communication and language.physical development.literacy.mathematics.understanding the world.expressive arts and design..

What are the prime areas of learning?

The prime areas of learning and developmentPersonal, Social and Emotional Development.Physical Development.Communication and Language.

What is the importance of play?

Play allows children to use their creativity while developing their imagination, dexterity, and physical, cognitive, and emotional strength. Play is important to healthy brain development. It is through play that children at a very early age engage and interact in the world around them.

What is the Foundation Phase profile?

The Foundation Phase Profile has been developed as a summative assessment tool using observations and formative assessments to build up a holistic picture of children’s development and abilities in key areas. Observation plays a key role in the everyday practice in the Foundation Phase.

What is continuous provision in the Foundation Phase?

Continuous provision is the resources and areas that you have laid out for your children to explore freely. They should be safe to explore, as well as challenging and engaging.

Why play based learning is important?

Through play, children can discover their own interests, abilities and limitations; they imagine, investigate and explore. They develop memory skills, build vocabulary, learn new skills and knowledge and learn how to get on with adults and other children.

What is the role of play in foundation phase learning?

Researchers agree that play provides a strong foundation for intellectual growth, creativity, problem-solving and basic academic knowledge. … Through play, children learn a set of skills: social skills, creativity, hand-eye coordination, problem solving and imagination.

What are the 5 areas of child development?

Children develop skills in five main areas of development:Cognitive Development. This is the child’s ability to learn and solve problems. … Social and Emotional Development. … Speech and Language Development. … Fine Motor Skill Development. … Gross Motor Skill Development.

What age is foundation phase?

They are grouped as follows: Early Years Foundation Stage – ages 3-5 (Nursery and Reception) Key Stage 1 – ages 5-7 (Years 1 and 2) Key Stage 2 – ages 7-11 (Years 3-6)

What are the Eyfs principles?

Four principles of EYFSA unique child. Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.Positive relationships. Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.Enabling environments. … Learning and development.

What is the Early Years Foundation Phase?

The early years foundation stage ( EYFS ) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS , including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

What is the new curriculum in Wales?

The Curriculum for Wales guidance was published in January 2020. It aims to help each school develop its own curriculum, enabling their learners to develop towards the four purposes of the curriculum – the starting point and aspiration for every child and young person in Wales.

What are the principles of the foundation phase?

The Foundation Phase has seven Areas of Learning which are delivered through practical activities and active learning experiences both indoors and outdoors. The areas of learning are; Personal and Social Development, Well-being and Cultural Diversity. Language, Literacy and Communication skills.

What is the Foundation Phase curriculum?

The Foundation Phase is a developmental curriculum for three- to seven-year-olds in Wales. It encourages children to be creative, imaginative and to have fun while making learning more effective. … Your child will be encouraged to explore concepts and share ideas for solving problems.

What are the 7 areas of learning in the Foundation Phase?

The statutory areas of learning in the Foundation Phase are:personal and social development, well-being and cultural diversity.language, literacy and communication skills.mathematical development.Welsh language development.knowledge and understanding of the world.physical development.creative development.

What makes a good Eyfs teacher?

When observing teaching in the EYFS, you should expect to see: … The use of knowledge of the EYFS to provide rich sensory experiences, stimulating curiosity and investigation. Children being supported to feel confident and secure in dealing with challenges in their learning, starting from what they already know.

How does play enhance children’s learning?

Learning through play. Play is one of the main ways in which children learn and develop. … Play helps to nurture imagination and give a child a sense of adventure. Through this, they can learn essential skills such as problem solving, working with others, sharing and much more.

Why is the Foundation Phase important?

They are also responsible for helping children to develop their thinking skills. … An important part of being a Foundation Phase Teacher includes promoting the child’s social, emotional, intellectual and physical development.